About Us

Logo 887
We are a part of the Lutheran Church- Missouri Synod.
To find out more go to: www.lcms.org

Rev Carlton Kangas

Img 20210418 080108
Rev. Carlton W. Kangas became the pastor of the dual parish of St. Paul’s and St. John Lutheran Churches of Fall Creek in November of 2016. He came out of retirement to serve our congregations after the retirement of Rev. Larry Borgelt in 2014. Pastor Kangas has served congregations in Montana and North Wisconsin District. A graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, ID, in 1980, he began service to the Church in that year. He graduated from Concordia College, Moorhead, MN in 1973.

Rev. Kangas was born in Detroit Lakes, MN, and baptized at Christ Lutheran Church, Wolf Lake, MN. His confirmation instruction was conducted by Rev. Raymond Malotky at St. John’s Lutheran Church, Park Rapids, MN; and was confirmed in 1967 at Gethsemane Lutheran Church, Snellman, MN. Pastor Kangas is the 7th child born to the late Leonard and Hilma (Yoki) Kangas, who had 12 children, 9 boys and 3 girls. Four of his siblings are deceased. In 1981 he married Jane Belmas, who he met on vicarage in Ironwood, MI. They are parents of three adult daughters, spread from Alaska to Texas; and six grandchildren.

Pastor Kangas finds great delight and joy in serving the people of our congregations. He enjoys meeting new people, and welcomes you to our services, and getting to know you personally.
 

St. Paul's Lutheran

Our Mission is: To connect people to Jesus Christ, the Savior, through the Gospel so that all may discover “Real Life” for eternity.

Our Vision is: To equip ourselves with the Word, through study and worship, so we may use our God-given talents to share the Gospel with everyone.

History of congregation: The congregation was formally organized May 15, 1910 under the name of the German Evangelical Lutheran St. Paulus Church of the Unaltered Augsburg Confessional of Fall Creek, Eau Claire Co. WI, and chose to be affiliated with the Lutheran Synod of Missouri. In 1970 the name was amended to St. Paul’s Lutheran Church.

St. John Lutheran

Our Mission is: Under construction by Church Council

Our Vision is: Under construction by Church Council

History of congregation: German speaking immigrant families from the Provinces of Posen, West Prussia and Pomerania began settling in area around Fall Creek in the late 1850’s.  Early families were served by traveling missionaries.  Pastor Wilhelm J. Friedrich was ordained and installed on October 2, 1864 as Pastor and the follow month the Congregation was formally organized as St. John Lutheran Church.  Pastor Friedrich served the congregation for 36 years until his death in 1900.  Fifteen other pastors have served this congregation since 1900.

The current historic structure dates back to 1872, as the first building was destroyed in 1870 by a tornado. An educational wing was added in 1980.  St. John was the first Lutheran congregation in all of Eau Claire County and joined the Missouri Synod in 1877.  St. John under the direction of Pastor Friedrich helped establish numerous rural Lutheran congregations in Eau Claire, Buffalo, Pepin, Dunn and Chippewa Counties.

St. John has a rich history in education and world mission outreach.  They operated a parochial school during three different periods of their history.  During the 1990’s the congregation under Pastor Paul Bittner with direct involvement of members were involved in mission work in the Baltic States and Kazakhstan.

Love must be sincere.
Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.
Romans 12:9